Leave a comment

The Only BBQ Sauce You’ll Ever Need!

I suppose, when it comes to parties anyway, one measure of success is a lack of evidence. I recently hosted a barbecue. My friends are talented, smart, funny, and opinionated (naturally) but they are also diverse and I figured the evening would be a rousing success. When the party ended, there wasn’t much left. No pictures had been taken, everyone had been too busy enjoying the company, and only scraps of food were left on the table. A definite success.

There had been fresh corn salad, watermelon, Jamaican jerk burgers (recipe from Savory Spice Shop), and my barbecue pulled pork. Even before the inception of this blog, I had been wanting a “go-to” barbecue sauce recipe.

The hardest part about creating recipes is that I cook by taste and smell. To stop, measure, and write can throw me off. However, I believe that the resulting recipe was well worth this painstaking process.

You can certainly mix up the spices as a dry rub and keep them on hand. But this recipe is easy enough to whip up. What to serve it with? Well, you can just eat it with a spoon (yes, I speak from experience) but, of course, it is perfect for meat. I love it with shredded chicken but I like it with pulled pork and imagine it would be great for burgers as well.

Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

1/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1 teaspoon celery salt
1 teaspoon mustard powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic (I like to use roasted granulated garlic)
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle
1 small can tomato paste
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup bourbon
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon lime juice
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

In a small bowl, combine dry ingredients. Set aside. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine remaining ingredients. When sauce begins to simmer, turn heat to low and add dry ingredients. Whisk to combine. Cover, simmer on low 30 minutes. Serve or cool and store in refrigerator up to a week.

Share your thoughts!

