Leave a comment

Kitchen Sink Blondies

I come from a long line of chocoholics. We bake chocolate chip cookies, M&M cookies, and brownies. There is even a family recipe for chocolate cake with, you guessed it, chocolate frosting. My first addition to the family dessert file was a fool-proof fudge recipe.

It wasn’t until my college years that I began to develop my own culinary voice. In a sea of brunettes, my first batch of blondies were attention grabbing. For chocolate lovers, blondies are deceptive. There is skepticism, they can’t possibly be as rich or sweet or delicious as chocolate desserts. But of course, they are. And blondies have the advantage of being infinitely adaptable.

This recipe really came from my desire to find a way to add curry to a dessert. I wasn’t sold on the idea of fruity or chocolate desserts as the vehicle for this spicy turn. Blondies seemed the perfect base. I knew that I would add coconut flakes and I love butterscotch chips in my blondies. But still, something was still missing. I needed a foil for the curry. I considered rum but that seemed too obvious and I ruled out scotch because it seemed a little too antagonistic. I needed something biting, but with some sweetness…bourbon.

In the spirit of brevity, I edited the original name: Butterscotch Bourbon Coconut Curry Blondies. After all, I know it sounds like a crazy combination. You have to trust me on this. They are good.

Good enough to survive the test kitchen at work. I couldn’t bear to keep them a secret and submitted the recipe to

Savory Spice Shop

*. They were kind enough to let me use the picture below, taken for their website.

Kitchen Sink Blondies

½ cup butter, melted
¾ cup packed brown sugar
½ tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. maple extract
1 egg
¼ cup bourbon (mini bottle size)
1 cup + 2 tbsp. flour
¼ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. Mild Yellow Curry
⅓ cup butterscotch chips
½ cup coconut flakes

Optional: ⅓ cup chopped walnuts or any other goodies you desire!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine butter and brown sugar. Add extracts, egg, and bourbon. In a small bowl sift together flour, salt, and curry powder then combine with wet ingredients. Stir in butterscotch chips, coconut, and nuts. Pour into an 8×8 baking dish. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

*Disclosure: I work for Savory Spice Shop. However, I have not been compensated in any way for writing about and linking to them here. Where they are mentioned it is simply because I buy and use the products in my own kitchen.

Share your thoughts!

