Leave a comment

Will Work for Pi(e)

It happened. That awful scenario where you’ve typed something sharp, witty, readable; then you get distracted and when you return to your device your genius musings have disappeared. My inner intellectual scoffs that, “this problem doesn’t happen when you use a pen and paper.” The part of me that is friends with programmers and developers screams, “For the love of God, BACK IT UP! Will you never learn?!”

You see, I got up early this morning to bake a pie (those of you who know me well realize the enormity of this feat, for I am not a morning person!) While said pie, ok technically it was a galette, was baking away, I gathered my wits and a rather large cup of coffee. I’m not going to claim that I wrote my best post ever, but it was good. Then the timer went off and it was a grab-and-go dash to the office. Somehow, the post that was became a blank slate again. However, I’m going to try to get this in under the wire, so it will still be a Pi(e) Day post.

It started about a week ago when yours truly had the idea to have a Pi Day Pie extravaganza. Not a terribly hard sell around the office, since I work with food oriented people. But I’m still settling in after moving and knew that, especially since 3/14 is a Thursday this year, I wouldn’t have the leisure of devoting an entire day to baking. So pie became galette (a sort of free form, open faced, flat pie). I also knew I wanted to post it here, assuming it wasn’t a total flop, so I had started thinking about flavors. It’s feeling like spring this week and I wanted something fresh and fruity: berries. I’ll freely admit that I Googled a number of “berry galette” recipes. Part of what made this Mixed Fruit Galette recipe so appealing was the fact that it looked quick, easy, and delicious. I used the crust recipe, but added a tablespoon of gin before adding another 2 tablespoons of water.

It is kind of nice to have guinea pigs upon which to recipe test. People seemed to like it, but it’s not a distinctively boozy recipe. Unless you know there is gin in it, you wouldn’t necessarily identify it that way. But the gin does give the berries an herbal quality and tempers the sweetness a bit. To further cut the sugar, I topped it with European style sour cream, which isn’t all that sour, you could certainly use crème fraîche for the same effect.

Black & Blue Berry Galette

Ingredients:

1/3 cup + 1/4 cup lavender and vanilla infused sugar
9 ounces + 15 ounces blackberries and blueberries, mixed
1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon gin
2 tablespoons arrowroot powder, divided
1 pastry crust (gin infused, if desired)

Disclaimer: this looks harder than it is. Aside from the number of dishes required, it’s actually very easy and only takes about 35 minutes of active prep time.

Combine 1/3 cup sugar and 9 ounces fresh berries, set aside to macerate (about a half hour). In a skillet over medium heat, combine 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup gin. Reduce to syrup consistency. Add macerated berries, cook until berries pump but remove from heat before they start to burst, they will start to turn a purple color instead of the fresh blue color. Remove from heat, stir in 1 tablespoon gin and 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder. When cool remove berries from syrup, add cooked berries to 15 ounces fresh berries. Reserve syrup. Sprinkle berry mixture with remaining arrowroot. Place pastry dough on greased cookie sheet. Put berries in the center of pastry dough, leaving about a 1 inch border. Crimp up edges of dough, resembling a tart shell. If desired, brush edges of dough with a beaten egg for a glossy and golden crust. Bake at 375 degrees for 50-55 minutes. Before serving, top with European style sour cream and reserved syrup.

Share your thoughts!

