Leave a comment

Ginger Rum Punch

Rum punch, I was recently informed, contains four ingredients. Lest you consume a little too much, the recipe is a simple one: 1 sour, 2 sweet, 3 strong, 4 weak. You may remember that I recently infused a batch of rum with chai spices. In trying to find ways to use it, I looked to the flavors of the spices. When I got to ginger, I stopped. Ginger ale would be my “weak.”

Let’s be honest, for those of us who have day jobs, a nightly grocery run to fill our culinary whims is just not a reality. Yes, there’s a grocery store in walking distance of my house but most evenings once I get home I’d rather not step out for one or two ingredients. So, while my initial thought was to use grapefruit and superfine sugar, I decided to make use of a orange that was sitting on the counter and skip the sugar.

That’s it. It’s a pretty simple recipe, but if you don’t have any citrus hanging around it can be simplified even more: rum + ginger ale. The candied ginger in my chai spiced rum gives just a touch of sweetness (this is what I ended up sipping this New Year’s Eve). I have to say though that a bit of citrus puts the drink over the top for me. I can’t vouch for anything except the orange but let me know if you give grapefruit or even lemon a try!

Ginger Rum Punch

Ingredients:

2 oz fresh squeezed orange juice
3 oz chai spiced rum
6 oz ginger ale

Note: This makes a pretty strong drink, so ease up on the rum or add more ginger ale for something with a little less punch.

Directions: In 16 oz glass, stir together all ingredients. Top with ice.

Share your thoughts!

