1 Comment

It’s a…

Cookbook!

In February, this really incredible thing happened. I was asked to help write a cookbook. Mind you, I’m merely a small piece of a big project; it took a talented team to pull off this feat. Yet, here we are. It feels like a dream to see my name listed on the title page but, somehow, it’s real.

I half-jokingly compare it to a gestation period. In the course of nine months, I felt like there were big and exciting changes but the world around me wasn’t privy to this in the same way I was experiencing it. I’ve tried to distill it down but it was exciting, rapidly changing, at times chaotic – as the few paragraphs below are, and not easy to fully explain. And, as they say happens with childbirth, I seem to have forgotten any frustration and would happily do it all over again.

I ate multiple iterations of many recipes, suggesting tweaks and offering feedback – rough job, right? Well, that portion of the project was underway just before my sister’s wedding. Let me tell you, it’s easy to start worrying about your waistline when you’re eating like a Hobbit – breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies, lunch, afternoon tea, supper.

I wrote, in a way that I haven’t since my school years. It was an exciting prospect and, at times, a monumental task. I wrote, rewrote, trashed, started from scratch, edited, rewrote, started from scratch again, rewrote, asked my mom to edit, tweaked, and finally submitted content…or at least that’s what it felt like I did.

I got to invite a few friends to be recipe testers, gleefully getting to share this labor of love with a few of my kitchen loving girlfriends. I watched photo spreads, shot in house, gradually replacing our mock-ups. I saw the cookbook unfold on the back wall of the office, literally surrounding my desk. I spent three days in a conference room with our project manager, painstakingly editing every line in the book.

I’ll readily admit that the day our little book came in, printed and bound, I couldn’t help but squeal with excitement. I got a bit choked up, seeing the finished product, and immediately took it home and haven’t stopped sharing it since. Spice to Plate is available for purchase! So now I get to share it here.

Next week, I’ll be making and posting one of my favorite recipes from the book. In the meantime, we are having a book launch party tonight. I can’t wipe the smile off my face, nor would I want to. Instead, I’m going to sip a quick and easy classic champagne cocktail, with a spiced spin, while I get all prettied up!

Cheers!

Spice Infused Champagne Cocktail

Ingredients:

Vanilla sugar cube (recipe available here)
Angostura bitters
Champagne or sparkling wine
Pink Peppercorns

Directions: Place sugar cube into a champagne flute or glass of your choice. Add 3 drops of bitters, dripping them directly onto the sugar cube. Fill with sparkling wine and add a few pink peppercorns.

One comment on “It’s a…

  1. What a great photo! I can’t believe you had time to post this right before the party.

Share your thoughts!

