Leave a comment

Boozy Badam Steamer

Sometimes, the best things are the result of unexpected circumstance. This is one of those delightful accidents. I’d purchased unsweetened almond milk for a recipe and found myself with about a half bottle that needed to be used up. I started thinking of ways to use it up but kept coming back to one fact: I like cow’s milk. Any recipe I could think of was a recipe in which I would have used cow’s milk to begin with. Until I found myself running out of milk.

We had a bit of a cold snap recently and I found myself chilled. I wanted something comforting and warming. It was too late for coffee. Tea just didn’t seem to fit the bill. A cocktail? Well, that would be warming…

IMG_0542.JPG

It’s a simple recipe, perfect for a solo evening with a good book. Almond milk (unsweetened), honey, chai infused rum, and a dash of spice…not that it’s necessary, but isn’t it delightful to feel that you’ve lavished just a bit of extra attention on yourself? In fact, if you’re feeling quite the dandy, this would be a great opportunity to pull out your milk frother. (My wonderful aunt got me one for Christmas and I’ve been whipping up pseudo-lattes since!)

Boozy Badam Steamer

Ingredients:

8 oz. unsweetened almond milk
1.5 oz. Chai Spiced Rum
1 – 2 tbsp. honey
1/8 tsp. rose water
1 tsp. vanilla extract
(Optional) nutmeg

(Optional tool) milk frother

Directions: In microwave or over low heat on stovetop, warm almond milk until it is steaming but not boiling. Meanwhile, in large mug, combine Chai Spiced Rum, honey, rose water, and vanilla extract. Stir thoroughly until honey is dissolved. If frothing milk, froth before adding to mug. Add milk to mug. Sprinkle with nutmeg to serve.

IMG_0543.JPG

Share your thoughts!

