Leave a comment

The only constant…

After a blogging hiatus and a year that has felt busy, intense, and changing (heck, the last week has felt that way!), I’ve spent some time thinking about this little project of mine. Why I started it (to write more and cook more), why I’ve tried to continue it (because it feels challenging and worthwhile), and what happens next. The truth is, I’ve stretched myself in other directions and begun to use my time in other ways since the inception of this blog. It’s been a few years and, as I reflected on the changes in my life, I came to see that a lot has happened.

  • A few years ago, I started a (now defunct) beer blogging project with my best friend.
  • We started a monthly dinner party, affectionately named “Bitches in the Kitchen” that has proven a great way to build stronger relationships and has, on occasion, proven that scheduling is tough when you have so many cooks in the proverbial kitchen.
  • While “Bitches in the Kitchen” is on hiatus, I’ve started a ladies-only poker night. The first (of many, hopefully!) was small, but fun – and it’s been requested that I keep it up.
  • My family has grown! I now live with my boyfriend, my sister is married, and we welcomed my first niece this summer. I’ve realized just how much these relationships matter and how important it is to me to make time to be present to the moments –big and small–that matter to them.
  • I found some new hobbies. After taking an English paper piecing class, I’ve begun hand-quilting. It’s a laborious process but incredibly gratifying to create in a different way than I am used to. I also started making things – jams and candles and dryer balls. These new diversions are quite enjoyable to me and I’m finding that I can even make a little money.
  • Last summer, I joined a choir. It has the beautiful mission of creating a place for foster children and at-risk youth to see and find (musical) excellence…and it has begun to mean more to me than I could have ever imagined.
  • There’s also professional growth and development. I wish I had a crystal ball and could see where this road is leading, but I have new challenges at work too…and find myself content to come home, turn on music or the tv, and sew rather than create a beautiful mess in the kitchen.

And it’s easy to get so caught up on the day to day that you simply can’t see the forest for the trees. So, where does all of that leave Spirited Bites? Well, it’s my blog and my life is changing, so it’s going to have to change too. I’d be lying if I said that there wasn’t some part of me that is still trying to believe that I can do the same thing, better, and that I can make my grand plans happen instead of “giving up” on what this blog has been about – cooking with alcohol.

But here’s the thing…change can be really hard but it can also create something even more beautiful and meaningful. So, with a deep breath, I’m stepping forward.

From Merriam-Webster: You may see spirited used to describe a conversation, a debate, a horse, or a campaign. And it often shows up in such words as high-spirited (“bold and energetic”), mean-spirited (“spiteful”), and public-spirited (“generous to a community”), all of which reflect the original meaning of spirit, a notion much like “soul” or “personality”.

The definition of spirited is full of energy, personality, or courage. But I like to think of it more as “imbued with meaning,” full of spirit, if you will.

I’m still planning on keeping this a food-driven blog; but instead of just boozy cooking, there will be other dishes. There will be family recipes, my favorite ‘lazy’ recipes, and maybe some stories about food (sans recipes). I am reaching out more, building connections and relationships; this blog will continue to be an expansion of my life and passions, those are just changing a bit.

After all: Change is the only constant in life.

“Life is flux.” -Heraclitus of Ephesus

Share your thoughts!

